Hassell Images – Historic Surrey

When John Hassell was travelling around the ancient county of Surrey it extended as far north as the Thames and as far east as Rotherhithe. Since then there have been some major changes in the administrative boundaries of the county of Surrey.


Watercolour of Kew New Palace by John Hassell, 1824 (Surrey History Centre ref.4348/5/2/2)

In 1889 the County of London was created, and the areas of the modern London boroughs of Lambeth, Southwark and Wandsworth were removed from Surrey. Also in 1889, Croydon was made into a county borough exempt from county administration.

In 1965 more of Surrey was lost to London, with the creation of the London boroughs of Kingston, Merton, Richmond, Sutton and an expanded Croydon. Also in 1965 Staines and Sunbury were transferred from Middlesex to Surrey. In 1974 these areas became the new district of Spelthorne

The Hassell collection at the Surrey History Centre therefore includes paintings and illustrations relating to churches and buildings in the historic county of Surrey.

Click here for more information on the historic county of Surrey.

Click the following links to view galleries of Hassell images. High quality copies of these and other images from the collection are available for purchase from Surrey History Centre.

Find out more details on the Surrey History Centre website.

Barnes, Kew, Mortlake and Wimbledon

Beddington, Carshalton and Mitcham

Bermondsey, Holborn and Walworth

Brixton, Lambeth and Southwark

Camberwell and Dulwich




Streatham and Wandsworth

Further Hassell images are available in the Surrey History Centre collections and these will be loaded into these galleries in due course. In the meantime try searching “Hassell” and a place name in the “Search All Records” box.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *