Ripley: Newark Priory

The Priory was founded in the late 12th century, as a house of Austin Canons, by Ruald de Calna and his wife Beatrice of Send and dedicated to the Virgin Mary and Thomas a Beckett. A good deal of flint walling remains, but there is hardly a dressed stone left, and merely tantalizing imprecise holes to indicate window openings.

Send with Ripley, Newark Abbey, 1898. Photographic Survey and Record of Surrey no. 128 SHC ref 7828/2/128/10

Send with Ripley, Newark Abbey, 1898
Photographic Survey and Record of Surrey no. 128
SHC ref 7828/2/128/10

Send with Ripley, Newark Abbey, 1912. Photographic Survey and Record of Surrey no. 5365 SHC ref 7828/2/128/45

Send with Ripley, Newark Abbey, 1912
Photographic Survey and Record of Surrey no. 5365
SHC ref 7828/2/128/45

The site is a Scheduled Monument.

Further Information

One thought on “Ripley: Newark Priory”

  1. Pingback: Dunsborough Park, A Horticultural Hotbed | Little Gems Family Photography

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *