This is a very typical Surrey village in the proportion of tile-hung, half-timber and brick houses, although not in any distinct style.
The parish church of All Saints forms a picturesque group with some cottages at the approach from The Street. It has a Saxon window of the mid-11th century and is noted for its fine, if faded, wall paintings of the Virgin, probably dating from about 1120.
John Hassell and Edward Hassell painted various views of All Saints. Use this link to see some examples.
The village is 4-5 miles south of Godalming and remained a small community until the mid 19th century. A village school was built in 1870 and a Village Institute nearby in 1883. Some houses at the northern end of the village are dated 1881 and there has been little new construction in the conservation area.
On the west side of The Street is the 18th century Witley Manor and its high brick wall which immediately abuts the road and faces a very attractive group of cottages.
Lea Park was the home of the wealthy financier J Whitaker Wright from 1890. He spent vast sums on the house and built a domed ballroom under the artificial lakes. After his business empire collapsed he was sentenced to 7 years in prison in 1904 and promptly committed suicide. He is buried in the churchyard of All Saints, Witley. When the estate was sold the Devil’s Punchbowl and Hindhead Commons were acquired by the newly formed National Trust. In 1909 the house was bought by William Pirrie, 1st Viscount Pirrie, chairman of the Harland and Wolff shipyard, builders of the SS Titanic. Sadly Lea Park burnt down in 1952.
Click here to see the catalogue of the Witley Civil Parish Records (1894-1949) held at the Surrey History Centre.