Fire At Clandon Park. We have no firm information concerning the extent of the damage to the collections of the Surrey Infantry Museum caused by the devastating fire at Clandon Park. The regimental archives and papers and photographs of individual soldiers, already transferred to Surrey History Centre, remain safe and accessible.
Surrey has a strong and long standing military history. The Queen’s Royal Surrey Regiment traces its origins back to 1661. The Royal Military College began in 1800 as a school for staff officers which later became the Staff College, Camberley. A Junior Department was formed in 1802, to train gentlemen cadets as officers of the Line. A new college was built at Sandhurst, into which the cadets moved in 1812.
Explore Surrey’s military connections, click one of the links below to find out more:
- An Incident of the Great War
- WW2 Bomb Damage in Surrey
- Buried Battles and Veterans’ Voices
- East Surrey Regiment’s ‘football’ charge July 1st 1916
- Gurkhas in the archive of the Surrey Regiments
- Photographs from the archive of the Surrey Regiments
- WW2 – Pillbox – Landscape Features
- Summary of the arrangement of the records of the Queen’s Royal Surrey Regiment
- Surrey’s First World War Projects and Useful Links
- The Queen’s Royal Surrey Regiment
- The Regiments in India: Photographs
- Their Finest Hour: Surrey and the Battle of Britain
- Woking Borough’s First World War Memorials